The Fairies are singing

Hi All,

I was taking a walk with my little Willie this morning20151229_101046

and we were doing the big block.  This is an area just behind the east side of our complex that has a church on the corner and beside it is a small park full of  low bushes, grass, and towering lodgepole pines.  You can see the road from the centre of this area so there really is no hiding, but this morning something happened that very rarely happens, we are walking through the area when all the traffic noises just stopped, like there was a lull.  I was standing in amongst these lodgepole pines,  looking up and seeing the tracery of the branches against the blue sky,20151201_085404

the birds were chirping and the squirrels were chattering and I could even hear the slight breeze through the trees.  And then I swear I could hear fairies singing, it was all about the sun shining and the trees swaying and the birds chirping, and yes I know that I sound insane, but I looked down right then and saw a group of mushrooms all together and it just sent me off into flights of  fancy.20151229_101010.jpg  As you can see, it jut caught me in a strange mood I guess, it seemed as if anything was possible,  even fairies.

We had a wonderful Christmas, I had fifteen for dinner and we had a riot, we laughed and joked and had too  much to drink but this one will go down in the record books as a success.  We tried an new system this year for gift giving, we set a limit of 20 dollars and the gift had to be gender neutral, it was then put under the tree with no name on it.  Once dinner was over and most of the dishes had been cleared away, we had a draw for numbers (in our case 1-15).  So number one takes the first gift from under the tree and then so on and so on until all 15 have been taken.  Then they were all opened, and that’s when the fun really begins, we start again with number 1 and they get to choose which gift they would like and then the others one by one get to trade what they had picked for what they want, some things were traded two or three times and at one point someone was trying to hide the bottle of Bailey’s that they had received, but she got found out and then everyone was gunning for it and for a blanket with a cougar on it.  It was hilariously funny and we have decided that this is a new tradition for this family.  Just thinking about it I am sitting here laughing so hard that I have tears in my eyes.

And now, we have New Year’s to look forward to.  We don’t usually do anything because my husband has to work that day and since he is up at 3:30 am  by the time Midnight rolls around he has been asleep on the couch for several hours.  I usually stay up and watch the ball drop in New York at our midnight (which is three hours behind New York time), and then I wake him up and we go to bed.

I am gearing up for the new year though, I have set some goals for myself for this coming year (not resolutions because I don’t believe in them) but actual goals that I have a plan for.  I truly believe this is going to be one of my strongest years in years, and that whatever I set my mind to, will come to fruition.

I will talk about this more on Friday, but for now, I am going to run, I can hear my washing machine beeping to let me know that the load is done, so I better get to it.

Take care and please feel free to leave a comment, I really would like to hear how your Christmas went and if you had as much fun as we did.  I promise, if you ask, I will answer.

 

About Barojenty

I am a 58-year-old Wife and Mother to two adult children that I am extremely proud of. They turned out to be wonderful human beings and lucky me, they still live at home. I am a Badass cook, a Mum to a two-year-old Dachshund named Willie and I have a chronic illness. I love taking care of my home and family and even though I need help from hubby now and then I try not to let my illness keep me from doing anything I want.

3 Responses

Leave a Reply

