The Wonderful World of Willie

20150610_150327 1
Willie

 

Today was the first day of Willie obedience training, my niece recently got her certification in dog training and she has accepted us as one of her clients.

I was amazed at just how responsive the little monster could be.  He took to training like a, what’s the old saying, duck to water.  He showed that he is very smart and that he has been playing me quite a bit.  But, then he knows what a sucker he has for a Mum.

Sammy taught him to Sit, Touch, and got a good start on Down and Heel.  We still have a little work to do when it comes to ‘Come’, but I think if we work with him all the time, he will get better very quickly.

Some of you may not know what ‘touch’ is, its for when you call your dog to come, they touch your hand and receive a treat or a good boy or whatever method you are using to reward your dog, for coming when called.

I also got a clicker to make it known when he is doing something that we don’t like, as in barking continuously even if it’s only a bird passing by the window.

I have a week to practice and implement the ideas that I was given and we will see how he does then.

Stay tuned, I will have a well trained and well behaved dog in no time.

 

About Barojenty

I am a 58-year-old Wife and Mother to two adult children that I am extremely proud of. They turned out to be wonderful human beings and lucky me, they still live at home. I am a Badass cook, a Mum to a two-year-old Dachshund named Willie and I have a chronic illness. I love taking care of my home and family and even though I need help from hubby now and then I try not to let my illness keep me from doing anything I want.

Leave a Reply

