Wickedly Rainy or Icy Cold

Wherever you are and whatever weather you are having, we all have those days when we want nothing more than to curl up in front of a fire and pretend that life has gone away.

Whether you are feeling ill, you are freezing from your head to your toes, or you are soaked right through, there is something so calming and relaxing about being in front of a fire.  But, what if you don’t have a fire, there are a bunch of things that can make you feel that same calm and relaxed feeling.  What about a wonderful cosy throw or a pair of fuzzy slippers, or how about a warm cup of Italian hot chocolate?  Wouldn’t one of those be almost as good as that fire?  Well, unfortunately I am not a witch or a wizard with a wand so I can’t provide you with the throw or the slippers, but I have the most wonderful Italian hot chocolate recipe.

Now, you might be asking what is so great about an Italian hot chocolate, how is it any better than a regular hot chocolate?  Let me tell you that if you have never tried one, you are in for a treat, an Italian hot chocolate is kind of like a cross between regular hot chocolate and the richest chocolate pudding you have ever tasted, it is thick and rich and absolutely must be stirred with a cinnamon stick.  Believe me, you won’t be missing that fire at all.

Italian Hot Chocolate

 

Italian Hot Chocolate

  • 4 ounces bittersweet chocolate 70% or higher
  • 1 1/2 cups whole milk
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 teaspoons corn starch

Put the milk and cornstarch into a pot and bring to a boil slowly over medium heat, stir until you get the consistency of not quite ready pudding.  Then add the chocolate and sugar and stir to combine.  Pour into mug and don’t forget to stir it with a cinnamon stick, oh,  and a dollop of whip cream if you’re feeling really decadent.  YUM!!

Kickback, relax, and I bet you are not missing the fire at all.

 

 

 

About Barojenty

I am a 58-year-old Wife and Mother to two adult children that I am extremely proud of. They turned out to be wonderful human beings and lucky me, they still live at home. I am a Badass cook, a Mum to a two-year-old Dachshund named Willie and I have a chronic illness. I love taking care of my home and family and even though I need help from hubby now and then I try not to let my illness keep me from doing anything I want.

Leave a Reply

