FIGHTING CANCER … AGAIN

 20160209_125947-1

 

When Hawkeye was originally diagnosed with prostate cancer, we believed that the surgery would catch it and it would not be an on going project in our lives.  Since that time, we discovered that because of the spread of his cancer, that surgery alone did not get it all.  So, what happens next you ask, well every three months he goes in for a PSA test and hopes that the numbers stay low.

When he got the first one after the surgery, it was supposed to be zero if all the cancer had been caught, it wasn’t zero.  So, ok, the doctor said it’s not too bad, we will watch it, and see.  The next PSA showed an increase to 2.5, the doctor told us not to worry, but that we would need to do something if it reached 5.  We waited another three months had the PSA test done again and discovered that it had almost doubled to 4.9.

What next?

Hawkeye and I both knew that this would mean further steps have to be taken, so we went to the doctor expecting to hear that further treatment would be required, and we were not disappointed.  The doctor told us that he would recommend radiation treatments.  We stayed calm and were told that he would be contacting the BC Cancer Agency and arranging for us to see them and begin the treatments once they had an idea of what the new numbers were.  We would once again have to go and get a PSA a week before the appointment so they would have the latest numbers to deal with.

Now, I am sure there are a bunch of you saying “What is this we stuff, he is going through this not you” and while you are technically correct, I defy anyone who has a husband that they love, that is going through this, to not refer to it as we.  We are a partnership and what happens to one, happens to both.

We have yet to hear from the Cancer Agency, so we wait and wonder how long will it be before we hear something, hopefully not too long, we don’t want the numbers to double again.

What next?

After leaving the doctor’s office and heading home, we were both pretty quiet in the truck.  Finally, I turned and asked Hawkeye “Are you OK?”

He turned to me and said “Nothing we hadn’t expected and nothing to get worked up over, what will be, will be.”  He is very calm about all this and really is a fatalist about it, we will deal with whatever comes, as it comes.  Now for the most part I am in agreement with him, we will take everything one step at a time, and just go with the flow.  You may have noticed that there are an awful lot of platitudes in there, things that you say to other people to make them believe that you are ok, just waiting for the fight to start.

But, guess what, I am not OK, I am damned angry that this is happening to him, he is a very good man and doesn’t deserve this.  And then I see myself in the mirror and I say who would deserve this, just because he is a good man, it doesn’t mean he gets off lightly in life, no it means you take your lumps like everyone else.

What does radiation entail?

As soon as we got home, I got on the computer and looked up the radiation treatments.  What I discovered is, that the treatments will be what they call targeted radiation, that the implement will be pointed at the correct position to catch the cancer cells. Hawkeye will have the treatments everyday, Monday to Friday for several weeks or even months if they feel it is necessary.  My next question was what are the side effects, is he going to be in pain, is there going to be any lasting problems with this.  It turns out that the side effects are relatively small, he may feel some discomfort in the form of diarrhea after a few treatments, and there may be a permanent discolouration of the skin where the ray passes through the skin.

What now?

Now we wait, we wait for the Cancer Agency to get in touch with us to set up the appointments.  We wait to see if the radiation treatments do the job, and if they do that is the end (at least for now).  If it turns out that radiation is not doing the job, then we will be back to the doctor again with a What’s Next?

By the way, someone in my family asked me why I call him Hawkeye on the blog?  The first reason is because he never misses anything to do with me, if my legs are hurting really badly one day he will see or hear me wince even if I am in another room.  And if I should groan when I get out of bed, I’ll get a phone call in the next few minutes asking if I’m doing OK?  And if I fall, like I do all the time, the phone will be ringing the next second. I never get away with anything.

The second reason is of course because he does not want his name known out in the big old world, like if someone who knows me wouldn’t know who I was talking about? Haha.

I will keep you all up to date on the goings on with him.  Please just say a little prayer for us, that the radiation will do the trick.

Thank you all, and God Bless you.

By the way, if you want to know when I’m posting and get excerpts in your mail box, just hit the follow button, and hey leave me a message, I promise I will get back to you.

 

About Barojenty

I am a 58-year-old Wife and Mother to two adult children that I am extremely proud of. They turned out to be wonderful human beings and lucky me, they still live at home. I am a Badass cook, a Mum to a two-year-old Dachshund named Willie and I have a chronic illness. I love taking care of my home and family and even though I need help from hubby now and then I try not to let my illness keep me from doing anything I want.

1 Response

Leave a Reply

