Triumph Time

20160314_193524

Hi Everyone,

Don’t those steaks look amazing? Wait until you see how easy this recipe is. But for now, we are going to talk about keeping your mind and body healthy even when you have challenges.

I know that you are all aware that I have some mobility issues and that it is unlikely that I exercise, well you would be right. However, ever since I had my children over twenty years ago, I slowly but steadily put weight on. I wound up with all the issues that usually go with weight gain, thyroid problems, blood pressure problems, diabetic problems and of course, the more you weigh the harder it is on the body. All of these conditions are controlled with medication, but it is even better if you lose weight and exercise every day.

I became aware that I really had to do something when I reached an unacceptable weight as far as I was concerned, 250 lbs. That was four years ago next month; I joined Weight Watchers and seriously made the effort to eat properly and took up exercise, which I hated. I worked hard, and just over three years ago, I had dropped fifty pounds and was well on my way to believing that I could get back to what I had been on the day I got married (to have a waist again, that was my goal). Then one month later, all of my problems with my legs, and the rest of my body started, and I slowly over the last three years put all that weight back on plus more.

WHAT DID I DO?

In August of last year, I decided it was time to accept that I wasn’t going to get back to my old self but that it wasn’t going to stop me from trying to be healthier. I am a sugar addict; I love sweet things very much, and sugar was a large part of my problem. I had to curb that craving if I was going to get anywhere.

I have cut back on sugar, and I eat smaller portions, and I walk with Willie at least once a day and sometimes 5-6 times a day, depending on how my legs are doing, and I have been vigilant about making sure that I don’t overdo the sugar or the carbs, and this week when I stepped on the scale, I had reached my first goal of 25 pounds.

I know that this may not seem a lot to people who can move freely, who are not falling downstairs or upstairs all the time, but for me, this is a triumph. It means that I do not have to give up on my dreams of getting at least below two hundred, it may never happen, but I want to, at least, keep trying as hard as my body will let me. The fact that I can buckle a belt that I couldn’t even wear last year is every incentive I need to keep going, not to mention my pants are feeling looser and looser.

MAYBE I NEED TO SHARE

I am thinking of starting a Facebook page for people like me, who have challenges that prevent them from engaging in the “normal” types of losing weight but who still want to be as healthy as they can be. I will let you know if I do, and if you want to join, even if you don’t have challenges, I would be happy to have you along for the ride.

Part of the journey is to start eating properly, and for today we have:

 

20160314_173511

BEEF BUNS

This might possibly be the easiest meal to make. For it you will need:

  1. 6-10               Sirloin Strip Steaks or Tritips if you can get them
  2. 12                     Buns
  3. 10-12 slices   Swiss Cheese
  4. 1                       Onion
  5. 6                       Carrots
  6. 3 stalks           Celery
  7. Salt & Pepper to taste

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Slice the onions into half-moons and put in a frying pan with a little bit of butter for taste and oil. Do this about an hour before you want to eat so that the onions can get really soft and sweet.
  2. Start up the Barbecue. We used the gas grill last night (because it was pouring) but usually we would have done the steaks on the charcoal grill. The gas grill can be pulled under cover, but the charcoal grill has to be out in the open so the smoke can dissipate and not make its way into the house.

20160314_193530

  1. Peel the carrots and cut them, and the celery into thin strips, place them on a plate and put it in the fridge.
  2. When the barbecue is ready, salt and pepper the steaks and put them on the BBQ.
  3. Turn on the oven to Broil.
  4. Pull out a sheet tray and cut the buns in half.
  5. Toast the buns (we use Portuguese buns they are a nice size)
  6. When the steaks are done, put them on a plate and cover with foil.
  7. Let the steaks stand for 10 minutes.
  8. In the meantime, pull out the Swiss cheese slices, any condiments that you want with the meat and cheese (my son uses HP sauce, and my daughter uses mayo).
  9. When the steaks have had a chance to rest, slice them thinly until you have a pile of thinly sliced steak, YUM.
  10. Pile it on the bottom side of the bun, place the sweet caramelized onions on top, then lay, at least, one piece of cheese on the top.

20160314_193600

  1. Put the bottom half of the bun with its goodies on the top back on the sheet tray and stick under the broiler until the cheese melts.
  2. Put your condiment on the top half of the bun and once the cheese has melted cover the bottom with the top half and, if you’re like me, cut the sandwich in half.
  3. Serve with the carrot and celery sticks.

Now, I have to apologize, I was so hungry by the time these were done that I forgot to take a picture of the finished product, you will just have to take my word for it, these are very good.

I hope you give this a try. It will make you smile and even though there is bread involved, you can enjoy it guilt free. There is no need to cut yourself off from everything you love.

I will talk to you on the Thursday, I am hoping we will have some sunshine for the next couple of days and if we do, I think Willie and I will see if we can’t find a new adventure for him.

Take care and leave me a comment, I would love to hear from you. And don’t forget, if you email me at 24bas10@gmail.com I will send you a small booklet with 5 recipes and the grocery list for them.

Bye for now.

 

 

 

About Barojenty

I am a 58-year-old Wife and Mother to two adult children that I am extremely proud of. They turned out to be wonderful human beings and lucky me, they still live at home. I am a Badass cook, a Mum to a two-year-old Dachshund named Willie and I have a chronic illness. I love taking care of my home and family and even though I need help from hubby now and then I try not to let my illness keep me from doing anything I want.

Leave a Reply

