Barking up the Wrong Tree

Barking up the wrong Tree

Hi Everyone,

Today I want to talk about the family member with the loudest voice.  That would be my wee monster Willie, a year old Dachshund that has a personality bigger than my house.  He is without a doubt the noisiest dog that I have ever owned.  His voice is so big that when he is inside and I am outside I can actually hear it rattling the windows.  This trait in the little guy drives my husband Hawkeye insane.  He has tried everything he can think of to get him to stop, but once Willie gets going he seems to be this force of nature and once started can’t be stopped until he stops himself.

Willie is the most loving dog, when I sit in my chair to watch TV he wraps himself around my neck and just hangs over my shoulders for as long as I can handle it.  He’s about 15 lbs now, so it gets heavier and heavier until I have to push him onto the back of the chair, where he stays for a couple of minutes and then is back hanging off my shoulders.

on my shoulders

As you can see, he has a tendency to take over.  I have to tell you though, that I love that he cuddles up with me like this.

Willie is  very cute and people stop all the time to pet him, mostly because Willie doesn’t give them a choice, as soon as he sees someone he makes a beeline for them just to  say “HI” .  He has friends all over the place, from kids, to adults, to grandparents and other dogs, he has no fear and wants to play with everyone and everything.

The reason I’m telling you about this little monster is because, he is a hound, and uses his nose for everything, but it means that sometimes he misses out on things because his head is always down.  I was taking him for a walk the other day and this squirrel runs across the path in front of us, Willie never noticed, which was OK with me, since he would have taken off running and I might just have wound up on my rear end.  So, I was breathing a sigh of relief until we got to where the squirrel had crossed the path in front of us, and then his nose kicked in and he was off.  Well, I was in the middle of a stride when he took off, so I was only on one foot at the time, thank goodness for my cane, if I hadn’t of had that I’m pretty sure I would have face-planted right there (it wouldn’t be the first time that he’s done that to me).

Anyway, off he goes and the next thing I know is he’s barking up this tree at the squirrel who just happens to be in the next tree over.  So, I get there and I can see Willie with his paws on the one tree, his head tilted back looking at the squirrel in the next tree and I couldn’t resist “Willie, you’re barking up the wrong tree!”  There’s this laugh right behind me and it’s one of the people from our complex who was walking their dog and she’s killing herself laughing.  The next thing I know the two of us are standing there howling over the statement, while both our dogs wind up running rings around us and tangling us up in the leashes.  When we finally managed to stop, and get ourselves untangled we took one look at each other and off we went again.  It may not sound as funny in the telling as it was in person but you have to admit, it was a great line, right?

Well, I guess it’s time for the recipe of the day:

Beef Stir-Fry 2

Yup, super simple and easy  Beef Stir-Fry

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 lbs beef strips
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 stalks celery, chopped
  • 2 carrots, chopped
  • 1 green pepper, chopped
  • 1 red pepper, chopped
  • 1 Cup frozen peas
  • 1 Cup frozen corn
  • 2 Tblsp Soy Sauce
  • 1 tsp Sesame Oil
  • 2 Tblsp Plum Sauce
  • 1/2 Cup Thai Sweet Chili  Sauce
  • 6 Cup Boiling Water
  • 3 Cups of Orzo
  • 1 Tblsp Butter
  • 1 Tblsp salt

 

Instructions

  1. Pull out a big frying pan (or Wok if you have one)
  2. Also pull out a big pan and fill it with water
  3. Put pan with water on to heat on high
  4. For the frying pan add about a Tblsp of vegetable oil
  5. Add the chopped up garlic and let the pan heat up on high also
  6. When you smell the garlic, add in the onion, carrots and celery and stir fry those for a couple of minutes
  7. Add the remaining vegetables (you can use up anything that you have in the fridge, the ones I gave you are what I usually put in, but if I have mushrooms, I add them, or if I have zucchini I add it, the more the merrier )
  8. Stir fry the vegetables for about 8 minutes just to get them seared on all sides
  9. Add the beef strips and stir fry with the vegetables for about a minute
  10. Then add all the soy sauce, sesame oil, plum sauce, and sweet Thai chili sauce
  11. Reduce heat and let simmer until the Orzo is done
  12. In the pot of boiling water add 1 Tblsp salt
  13. Then add the Orzo and cook for about 5-7 minutes
  14. Once the orzo is cooked, drain with a colander and put the noodles back in the pot
  15. Add 1 Tblsp butter and mix it in
  16. Serve the orzo with the beef mixture over it (make sure you get some of the sauce with the beef mixture and pour it over the orzo

It’s quick and easy and it sure tastes good.  By the way, if you like yours spicier, then go ahead and add some chili flakes to the vegetable pan when you put the garlic in, that way the oil gets flavoured with both the garlic and the hot pepper flakes before you put anything else in.

Beef Stir Fry 3

 

I guess that’s it for today.  Take care and I will talk to you on Saturday.

Oh, don’t forget to drop me an email (my email is just up there on the right) and I will send you the lttle cookbook I have put together.

I am also going to be starting a newsletter, so get your name in and I will send it to you weekly, with all of my favourite recipes and how to go about producing them, how to get ready when you are having  guests over for dinner, how far in advance should you start thinking about holiday entertaining and getting things ready  for it.  Oh, and  who knows, maybe there will be Willie’s corner and you will get to see what he’s up to this week.

Bye for now

 

 

About Barojenty

I am a 58-year-old Wife and Mother to two adult children that I am extremely proud of. They turned out to be wonderful human beings and lucky me, they still live at home. I am a Badass cook, a Mum to a two-year-old Dachshund named Willie and I have a chronic illness. I love taking care of my home and family and even though I need help from hubby now and then I try not to let my illness keep me from doing anything I want.

Leave a Reply

