Socks – Where do the missing ones go?

Socks1

 

Hi Everyone,

I know that all of you are asking yourselves where do they go too.  I went to get a pair of socks to wear this morning and the above picture is what I found.  Three lone socks that do not appear to have their match anywhere to be found.

I was frustrated and fed up with this and I was going to hunt those socks down, no matter what.

I decided to start where they would most likely be, in the laundry basket.  I reasoned that most likely they had just been missed from the laundry  the last time we had done it.  I turned everything out and searched through the entire pile and, no luck.

My deductive powers of reasoning then opted to go to the drier, where they may have been overlooked.  Again no luck.

Since my deductive powers didn’t seem to be working as well as I had hoped, I made a beeline for the washer.  I tore that thing apart, ours is a front loader, so I inspected every inch of the gasket, thinking they must have been caught in there.  Nope.  So, I stuck my head inside the washer to see if they had maybe been caught in the barrel, and again nothing to be found.

I almost started believing that the darn things had somehow walked out on their own, but then I gave my head a shake and proceeded to search the house.

I started with the shoes in the basement, could I have somehow left one stuffed inside a shoe for some reason.  I am a bit of a shoe person, so after searching through the twenty pairs I had downstairs, and again coming up empty, I proceeded to search all around the floor, and in the boxes, and in the bathroom that we have down there, and all around the laundry room.  Nada.

Now, by this time, I have been searching for the lost members of my sock family for damn near an hour.  I took a break to calm down and rethink the idea of the search, but then I stood up and said “NO”, “I will find the darn things.”  “I will not let them be alone, they deserve their  partners and I’m going to be the one to solve the mystery even if it takes all day.”  As you can see, I was channeling Sherlock Holmes at that moment, because I don’t really think like that usually.

Mentally, pulling on my Deerstalker cap and puffing on my Sherlock Holmes pipe, I proceeded to the next level of our home, the living room and kitchen, why they might be there I didn’t know, but I was determined and searched both areas, high, and low.  Once again I was foiled (I told you, Sherlock Homes).

I returned to the upper level of our home and began the search in my own bedroom, could they have been kicked under the bed, without me knowing, could they have been stuffed into the wrong drawer?  I searched every place I could think of and again, nothing.

I moved on to my son’s room next, I feared to enter as the room should come with a Hazmat suit, but I pushed on.  I did not find my three missing foot warmers, however, I did find three pairs of Hawkeye’s socks that my son had appropriated. I returned them to their normal home and proceeded into the last possible place they could be.

I moved into my daughter’s room, hoping against hope that the place would be clean enough for me to actually perform a search.  I was in luck, she had cleaned her room, it wasn’t spotless, but searching was made a great deal easier.  I started on the floor, and lo and behold, one sock down.  I moved next to her laundry basket, and AHAA there was another of my lost little toe huggers.  I then moved on to her drawers, thinking perhaps the third stock had been mistakenly placed in her drawer instead of mine.

What I found was a whole drawer of mismatched socks, I had completely forgotten that she does not like to wear matching pairs.  If one sock is black, the other has to be red, or green, or some other odd colour.  I looked through every one of those pairs, and believe it or not, the very last pair in the drawer did not hold my missing sock.

I was two down and one to go, but I had checked everywhere, it just wasn’t possible for the missing one to be anywhere in the house.  I had searched every inch of the place, and then I realized that I had missed one area, my little  Dachshund Willie’s bed.  I went straight there and guess what I found, my last little missing piece.  Someone had put a ball inside it and he then took it home with him.

My mystery was solved, I could relax at last.  I poured myself a cup of tea and metaphorically patted myself on the back.  I had let my inner Sherlock out and VOILA, the mystery could not stand up to the detective in me.

Now,  I know you are probably laughing at how stupid this all sounds, but believe me, I was not going to let it go.  There are times when I even surprise myself at how stubborn I can be.  I am sure it is not a surprise to any member of my family.

OMG, you will not believe this, there is a single Superman sock sitting on top of the laundry counter where I fold clothes.  My kids are too old for Superman. where did it come from (cue the eerie music and the X Files logo?)

Since I spent so long on the search today, there will be  no recipe for tonight.  We are having hot dogs.

 

 

About Barojenty

I am a 58-year-old Wife and Mother to two adult children that I am extremely proud of. They turned out to be wonderful human beings and lucky me, they still live at home. I am a Badass cook, a Mum to a two-year-old Dachshund named Willie and I have a chronic illness. I love taking care of my home and family and even though I need help from hubby now and then I try not to let my illness keep me from doing anything I want.

2 Responses

  1. OMG, THIS!!

    Lonely socks are driving me nuts as well. I don’t have the persistence that you have, so I just leave them on my nightstand, aka lonely socks’ meeting point. If the missing partner doesn’t show up in a while, I throw them out.

    I did read a new theory, however. You will like it: missing socks pair up with spare Tupperware Lids ;-)))

    http://thethreegerbers.blogspot.ch/2014/02/the-lonely-sock-thief-from-paris.html
    https://www.facebook.com/SwissPartTimeWorkingMom/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

