Dinner in 5

Hi Everyone,

Are you ever trying to get dinner on the table and rushing out the door 15 minutes later?  I know how hard that can be, so I have come up with some recipes that can be ready in 5 minutes with a little bit  of preparation.  They are things that can be eaten on the run, and were, as the lack of a picture on the second one should tell you.  It was snatched before I could even get a picture of it and he was out the door.

Dinner in 5.jpg

 

The best way to make sure that you can be out the door in 15 minutes is to have a well stocked pantry.  When all you have to do is stop for the fresh stuff, it makes eating in a hurry that much easier.

What’s in my Pantry

The following are the items that I always have on hand, so that I can run out the door in a very short time.

  • Vinegars – Balsamic, Apple Cider, Red Wine, and Malt
  • Oils – Regular Olive oil for cooking, Canola Oil for high heat, and Extra Virgin for using in vinaigrettes and to add a splash to a dish for flavour and shine.
  • Salt – Kosher Preferably, and Sea Salt
  • Black Pepper Corns – To be freshly ground as needed
  • Sugar
  • Flour
  • Pasta – Dried, Spaghetti, Orzo, Rotini, Orechietti, Fusili, and Lasagna
  • Canned Beans – Black, Canellini, Garbonzo, and of course, Deep Brown Beans (in various flavours)
  • Canned Soups – (I know too much salt, but for making sauces, they can’t be beat) Cream of Mushroom and Cream of Chicken
  • Canned Tomatoes – Diced, and Crushed
  • Soy Sauce
  • Ketchup
  • Yellow Mustard
  • Dijon Mustard
  • Honey
  • Hot Sauce
  • Wine – Red & White
  • Breadcrumbs
  • Spices & Herbs Dried – Thyme, Basil, Cayenne, Red Pepper Flakes, Rosemary, Tarragon, Poultry Seasoning, Italian Seasoning, Smoked Paprika, Old Bay, Cinnamon, Nutmeg, and Ground Ginger
  • Cornstarch – for thickening sauces

The next few things are fresh items but always on hand:

  • Eggs – Usually 2 dozen
  • Cheese – Parmesan, Cheddar, Swiss, and Mozzarella
  • Milk
  • Cream/Half and Half

Once you have a filled pantry, you truly can be out the door in ten minutes if you have to.  All you will need is the fresh meat, fish, fruit, vegetables, and fresh herbs, such as parsley and cilantro.

 What’s Next

When you have all your ingredients, if you are using a recipe, make sure that you read through it completely before you start.

Then you can start with the prep:

  • Wash and then chop your veggies and herbs.  For the veggies, make sure that you cut them in roughly the same size, so they cook in the same amount of time.  The herbs need to be chopped fairly fine.
  • If you are having pasta, get the water on to boil
  • Get your pans on and preheating
  • Get your BBQ heated to temp
  • Get your plates, cutlery, glasses and napkins on the table and ready to go as soon as the meal is.

 

Morning Steps

If you know in the morning that  you are going to be rushing out and want to have your family eat before you go, then there are steps you can take in the morning to make it much easier when you get home:

  • Pull out the pots and pans that you will need and put them on the stove
  • Check the recipe for the ingredients that you will need to pick up and then  make a list
  • After you have made your list,  put the recipe in the pot or pan, so you don’t have to go looking for it.
  • Pull out your plates and cutlery, pile them on top of each other and throw a dishtowel over them so they don’t collect dust.  Put the glasses upside down at your pace settings.
  • Pull out the pantry items that you will need and put them in the pots and pans too.

 

Recipes

Today, I have two recipes for you, both of them will get you out the door fast, the first is the picture you see at the top of this post, the second, well, I already explained that I didn’t have a chance to get a picture before my son was running out the door to somewhere or other with the second one in his hand.

QUESADILLAS

  • 1  Rotisserie chicken from the store
  • 1  Cup of cheddar Cheese, grated
  • 1/4 Cup of Salsa
  • 2  Green Onions
  • 2  Tortillas

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Pull out your frying pan and put it on the stove, spray it with cooking spray or put a small swig of oil in the pan
  2. Turn the burner to medium
  3. Put one tortilla in the pan after it has come to temp
  4. Now sprinkle the rest of the ingredients over the tortilla using half the cheese on the bottom and half on the top
  5. Put the other tortilla over the filling and press down slightly
  6. Let the bottom tortilla cook for about 2-3 minutes, checking occasionally to make sure that it is not burning on the bottom.
  7. When it is nicely browned, flip the whole thing over and let the top tortilla cook for about 2-3 minutes also.
  8. When done slide it out of the pan onto a cutting board and using either a knife or a pizza cutter, cut the quesadilla into four, wrapping each piece in a piece of wax paper, so that you can eatr while on the run.  Or cut it into 8 if you are going to sit down at the table and eat it (then it doesn’t look like you’re trying to stuff your face).

We have big appetites in my family (that’s why I look the way I do, I love to eat), so the recipe here is only for one.  If you have smaller appetites in your family then cut it in half and it will feed two.

The second recipe is even easier than the first.  Woot, 5 minutes from start to finish.

 

EGG WRAPS

  • Leftover bacon or sausages from breakfast, chopped into bite size pieces
  • 2  eggs
  • 1/2 Cup Cheddar Cheese, grated
  • 1  Small Red Pepper, chopped
  • 1  Handful of Spinach, chopped
  • 1  Tortilla

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Pull out a frying pan and put it on the burner on medium.  Add a little butter and oil to the pan.  The butter for flavour and the oil so the butter doesn’t burn
  2. Crack the eggs into a small bowl and beat lightly
  3. Pour eggs into pan and scramble
  4. When they are done, pull the pan off the stove and let it sit until you are ready for it
  5. Put the rest of the ingredients in a line down the center of the tortilla, I always put the cheese last, so that when you put the egg on top it melts slightly
  6. Put the egg on top, also in a line down the center
  7. Now, fold up the bottom of the tortilla and fold down the top, then fold one side over and start rolling until you reach the edge.
  8. Voila, you have your wrap.

 

I know that these recipes are super easy, and you probably already know how to make them, but there may be some newbie out there who doesn’t have a  clue where  to start, this post really is for them.  I intend over the coming weeks to supply you with more recipes that can be done in less than 15 minutes, providing you have taken the advice I gave in the middle of this post and prepped everything ready to go as soon as you  get home with the fresh stuff.  Every Tuesday, I am going to try to have at least two new recipes for you that will get you out of the house as quickly as possible.

Thursday’s post from now on, will be about baking and there will be a couple of recipes there for you as well.  And who knows, maybe every once in a while I may even throw in a post about dessert, but mostly the  Tuesday post will have main dishes that can get you out of the house fast.  I am going to try to take a page out of Michael Symon’s book 5 in 5, which calls for five ingredient mains in less than 5 minutes.  Mine probably won’t be in 5 minutes, I’m not a chef after all, but they will be hurry up recipes and then just to throw a wrench into the works HAHA (devilish laughter),  I will throw in a post for a Sunday dinner with all the trimmings.

Or, maybe I’ll throw in a post on 10 steps to get your kitchen really clean or it will be something about the family, or Willie.

I will try to keep you guessing and interested, I hope, in finding out what comes next.

So Sign up by emailing me, if you haven’t already with the pop up, and never miss a post.

I am working on a cookbook that will let you have all the recipes that I talk about here, plus some that will be coming in the next few months.  It will be free to download once I’m done, but I’m still working on getting the layout right, I’ve never done anything like this before so I’m stumbling along, stay tuned, hopefully it won’t be too long.

Take care for now and I will talk to you on Thursday.

 

 

 

About Barojenty

I am a 58-year-old Wife and Mother to two adult children that I am extremely proud of. They turned out to be wonderful human beings and lucky me, they still live at home. I am a Badass cook, a Mum to a two-year-old Dachshund named Willie and I have a chronic illness. I love taking care of my home and family and even though I need help from hubby now and then I try not to let my illness keep me from doing anything I want.

Leave a Reply

