Mums, Moms, Mothers

Hi Everyone,

MMM 1

No matter where you are from, no matter what you call her, the most important person in your young life is your Mum (I grew up in a British household so we say Mum rather than Mom.)

Every day she is there to help you up, kiss your cheek, and teach you how to be the sort of person that the world needs.  A worthwhile human being that cares as much for those around them as they do for themselves.

Every day around the world there is someone standing between her child and some kind of strife.  Being there for them when they are scared or hurt or lonely.  They do this every day without any thanks and without asking for anything in return except that you listen and learn.

What they teach us is so much more than just how to be a good human being, they teach us how to live our lives, from learning to dust and vacuum, to learning how to cook for yourself.  The gift that they provide to us every day when we are young, is that of knowing how to love.

MMM2

As we grow, they teach us other things, like not to smoke, or drink, how to study and how to pass tests.  They teach us how to drive, how to spend properly, and how to save (although many of us don’t learn that lesson very well.)

When we are young adults or teenagers, they teach us the benefit of picking our friends wisely, of taking care of those less fortunate than we are.  They teach us about religion and how to pray, then leave the decision up to us as  to whether or not we want  to be a part of a recognized religion.

Mums, Moms, and Mothers, shape our every step all the way into adulthood, and then they let us make our own mistakes so that we can learn from that too.

But they don’t even stop there, even though we are adults and supposed to know the 5 W’s (who, what, where, when, & why), they are still there for us to lean on if we have a problem we need to talk  out.  They are still there for us when we start a family and somehow forget everything they taught us for a little bit, because we are so tired and our brains don’t function well.

Every day and in every way they touch our lives, even when they are gone, we can still hear their voice urging us to do the right thing, or to not be so silly, or to be the person they always new we could be.

My Mum, is still alive and well, and every day I hear her voice in my head, guiding and leading and keeping me on the straight and narrow.  Reminding me gently that even though my kids are adults now, I need to be their sounding post, there rock when they need something hard at their back, or their pillow when they need a soft place to fall.

I will never get her voice out of my head because she taught me well, she showed me every day how to be a Mum to my kids, and now of course, she spoils them rotten.  But, in her own way still guiding and leading and tutoring the next generation.

I will be forever grateful that I have had my Mum for so long, I know a lot of  people who have not had their Mum, Mom, or Mother with them for many years, my husband is one, and it is a loss that you just don’t get over.  Something wonderful and strengthening has been lost, that little voice in your head when you are awake in the middle of the night, saying, “It’s OK, it was just a dream, you’re safe, and I’m here.”

I have often wondered when I would get to the age when I didn’t need her anymore, and what I have discovered is that I will always need her, even when she is gone, I will still need her, to tell me when I’m screwing up, when I’m not behaving myself in a way that she would approve of, and that she loves me, warts and all, no matter what.  I can only pray that my kids will feel the same way about me.

For the next three days, whether your Mum is still here or gone, really think about what she taught you, what she gave to you every single day.   How she made you feel safe and sound, and she managed to do that for all your brothers and sisters too.  She made each one of you know that you were special, that she believed in you, that she had faith you  would be the person she wanted you to be, and that she loved you unconditionally.

Now, I know, that not all mothers are like mine, or how I am with my children, I know that there are mothers out there who do not or did not treat their children with the respect and care  that mine did.  I have to say that I feel so sorry for  them, they have missed out on what for me has been the most satisfying thing in my life, knowing that I brought up two healthy, caring, non judgemental  adults.  My children make me proud every single day and I hope that my Mum can say the same.

If you still have your Mum, Mom, Mother, make sure that you tell her how much you appreciate the things she taught you, the things that she taught by example, and  the things that  you are still learning from her today.  Don’t let anymore time go by, without saying Thank you for everything she gave you, and everything she went through to bring you to this point in your lives.

For my Mum, I love you, I thank you, and I aspire to be like you every single day.

MMM3

 

 

 

About Barojenty

I am a 58-year-old Wife and Mother to two adult children that I am extremely proud of. They turned out to be wonderful human beings and lucky me, they still live at home. I am a Badass cook, a Mum to a two-year-old Dachshund named Willie and I have a chronic illness. I love taking care of my home and family and even though I need help from hubby now and then I try not to let my illness keep me from doing anything I want.

Leave a Reply

