How to Teach about Small Joys?

Hi Everyone,
I found that I liked the idea of putting the recipes separately from the blogs.   So, from now on I am going to post my recipes on Wednesdays. There will be at least two, and I’m hoping that maybe even three or four, and the other ones, the extras, will be desserts (because we all know, that desserts can make the meal,) or maybe some baking.
SMALL JOYS
 For today, I would like to talk about something I learned over the weekend.  I was answering a questionnaire on what you want to do with your life, now admittedly I am 57 years old, and it is something I probably should have known before now but, I discovered that more than anything, I love the idea of teaching people how to live their lives so that they’re happy.
 When I was taking this test, and I realized that I did love the idea of teaching people I started thinking about what is it that I could teach people, what is it that I have to offer, and I came up empty.  Who am I to think that I could teach anybody anything but,  I kept thinking about it, and I realized that the things that I can teach people are where to find joy in small moments. Life is not about the big overwhelming joys, like winning the lottery or, maybe your horse came first in the Kentucky Derby, or you won a million dollars doing something.
SMALL JOYS 1
The small joys are the ones that make you feel fulfilled, and when you look back over your life, it’s the small joys that you’ll remember,  holding your baby for the first time,  watching your dog or your puppy learn about something new,  the first time your husband kisses your lips.   It’s the small joys that you remember,  so, maybe my calling is teaching people how to find joy in the small moments.  How to look out the window and see a beautiful bird sitting on a branch singing and have it touch your heart, or watching a thunderstorm and feeling excited and scared at the same time,  watching the sunset and being shocked by the colors that are in the sky.
How would I go about teaching people to be aware of the small joys, and to look for them each day, to find something to smile about, to be positive about, to have a moment every single day that was just to find the beauty at that moment?
How do I teach people to open their hearts and find things that make their life better, maybe seeing your child’s face smile over something as silly and ridiculous as dancing around the kitchen listening to Bob Seger’s Old Time Rock and Roll and dancing up a storm and having the kids singing it at the top of their lungs with you?
I would need to find a way to help people see something every day, something that is beautiful.  We need to see the beautiful and even the not so great; we need to take moments to appreciate, to see the things that we don’t take the time to see.  We need those moments to feel sane and to realize that we are still human.
SMALL JOYS 3
Where I live is very green, there are trees, grass, and parks everywhere.  I was downtown Vancouver yesterday, and although most of the builders try to include a green space for the buildings they build, it is mostly concrete, and that is what you see.  I realized how hard it must be every day to see that gray concrete all day.
I saw homeless people, old and young, sitting down in front of a church, and it broke my heart to think that they would be spending Mother’s day looking for something to eat or for some new piece of clothing that might keep them warmer at night.  At the same time, I couldn’t help but be thankful that my daughter was in the car with me, taking me to a special surprise, and that my son would be at home, safe in his bed.  That was the moment when the idea came to me of small joys, how would I teach those people who have nothing to look for a small thing each day that could make them smile?
SMALL JOYS 2
Once again, I came up empty.  The more I thought about it, the more I realized that it isn’t something you can teach, it’s something that has to be shown.  So, what happens to my dream of teaching others how to find joy in the little things, or just finding joy period?  I don’t know at this point.  I guess I will have to keep thinking about it, and I am sure that eventually I will come up with a way to make my dream come true.
SMALL JOYS 4

About Barojenty

I am a 58-year-old Wife and Mother to two adult children that I am extremely proud of. They turned out to be wonderful human beings and lucky me, they still live at home. I am a Badass cook, a Mum to a two-year-old Dachshund named Willie and I have a chronic illness. I love taking care of my home and family and even though I need help from hubby now and then I try not to let my illness keep me from doing anything I want.

Leave a Reply

