To-Do List – the Benefits of Having One

 

to-do

 

Hi Everyone,

I have to apologize for no content on Tuesday or today, my computer crashed and was sent in for repairs.  Black Lab which is the company I use when we have problems with our computers, double-timed it, because they know that I write a blog and that I was going to be missing a couple of posts.  I cannot believe how good these guys are they completely replaced my hard drive and manually transferred over all my files because the other hard drive was too damaged to be able to ghost the files.  I just want to send out a Bravo to those guys, they always seem to bend over backwards to help us out.

This was to be Tuesday’s post

Last week, I talked about how I loved the idea of teaching, but I still haven’t figured out how I would go about teaching people to stop and see the small things.  I’m not even sure it is something you can teach, it has to be something that is part of your make up I think.

When I find something to smile about, I usually take a picture of it, but what interests me, won’t always interest others.  I was walking with Willie yesterday morning, when I found a patch of buttercups in the grass, it made me think of a post I did at the very beginning about fairies,  The Fairies are singing , it was silly and fanciful and made me look like and idiot, but you know what, I am an idiot at times.  I have a big imagination and it gets me a bunch of odd looks now and again, when I’ll burst out laughing at something that I thought of or remembered.

So, I wondered should I maybe just come up with something fanciful for a post or maybe I could think up a short story for all of you, but anything I came up with, would not be very well thought out.  So, I am sitting here wondering what to do, what to write about because I am just drawing blanks.

MAKE OVER YOUR MORNINGS / MAKE OVER YOUR EVENINGS

Then, a thought pops into my mind, how about if I tell you about a couple of  courses I am taking called Make over your Mornings and Make over your Evenings by Crystal Paine at the Money Saving Mom Blog all about setting yourself up for good mornings and productive days.  She also has two other courses that you can register for, they are:  Grocery University and Make Over Your YearOne of the most important things I have learned is to write a To-do list for every day, and I do mean a list that is good for every day.  It will go along with a couple of other to-do lists that I set up as well, they are the weekly chore list, and the seasonal or extra chore list.

TO-DO LIST

My to-do list starts with 7 am – Get Up, it used to be 6 am, but I have found that now I can actually stay asleep until seven, so I am definitely doing that.  I actually put down everything on my to-do list, hour by hour, all day long until bedtime at 11 pm, but it leaves lots of time throughout the day where I can make changes or go out for an appointment or just go out for a head break, you know what that is, where your brain is whirling around in circles and nothing seems to settle it down.

My To-do list looks something like this:

  • 7 am          Get Up
  • Exercise
  • Meditate
  • Get Washed up/Shower
  • Get Made up/Hair
  • Get Dressed
  • 8am          Walk Willie
  • Breakfast/Check email
  • Do Chore for today (from the Weekly Chore List)
  • Pull out what’s needed for dinner
  • Do any prep/marinades/crock pot, etc.
  • 10 am         Online Course/Work on Blog
  • 12 pm         Walk Willie
  • 1 pm           Lunch
  • 2pm            Work on blog/ Check rest of Email
  • 4 pm -7pm     Family Time/Dinner
  • 7pm           Dishes/Sweep Kitchen Floor
  • 8 pm          Walk Willie
  • 8:30 pm     Watch TV/Play on Computer/Have Fun
  • 9 pm            Shut Down Computer/Final Check of Kitchen/Set up for Morning
  • 9:30 pm       Get Washed Up/Ready for bed
  • 10 pm           Read
  • 11 pm            Bed

 

As you can see, I lead a very exciting life.  The thing is, this list still allows for things like Doctor Appointments, or going out and doing something fun, or maybe just going Grocery Shopping.  I discovered two apps that work pretty well, but my favourite turned out to be an online app called TODOIST.  I really like how easy and simple it is to use.  Have a look, and if you don’t like that one, the other one I found and didn’t like quite as much was WUNDERLIST.  I think either of these would work for anyone.

WEEKLY CHORE LIST

The Weekly Chore List looks like this:

  • Monday          Our Bedroom/Bath – Laundry Our Sheets and Towels
  • Tuesday          Kitchen and Main Bath/ Laundry – Darks
  • Wednesday    Living Room/Dusting/Door Handles
  • Thursday        Vacuum House/Laundry – Whites
  • Friday               My Office/Bath/Laundry Area
  • Saturday          Wash Floors
  • Sunday             Meal Plan for Coming Week/Grocery List

My kids are adults now, but still live at home.  They are responsible for their own rooms and laundry, and have been since they turned 13.  It is my firm belief that at 13 they should be able to clean their own rooms and do their own laundry.

SEASONAL CHORES – OR AT LEAST THATS WHAT I CALL THEM

I also have a bunch of seasonal or don’t have to be done every week chores, things like washing the windows, wiping down all the lampshades and fan blades, wiping down or washing walls, cleaning the blinds (I absolutely loathe this job), taking the curtains down and shaking them out or washing them if you can.  I generally try to do some of these chores at least once a month.

Every two weeks, I clean out and wash down the fridge, as well as clean out the microwave thoroughly, wipe down all the appliances, and make sure they are all as clean as I can get them (including the washer and dryer.)

BACK TO THE SUBJECT

I’ve really gone off course here,  I’m supposed to be talking about the benefits of a To-Do list.  Since this course that I was taking taught me to really get serious about having a to do list, it just makes sure that everything gets done when it’s supposed to.  When I first started, my husband was quite upset that I scheduled Family Time, like they were allowed this and no more.  Of course, I told him he was crazy and that it was just a way for me to make sure that I didn’t get so wrapped up in what I was doing that I forgot to take time out for the other things that were just as, if not more, important.

I have only been doing this for a couple of weeks now but I have to tell you, it keeps me on track, and I don’t forget to do things, like take something out for dinner or do our sheets and towels on Mondays.  Every day is listed out and sets me up for the kind of days that I like, work a little, play a little, and homemake (I know this isn’t really a word but we all use it anyway) a little.

Well, that’s it for today, once again, I am sorry about missing Tuesday’s post, and the recipes that I would have shared with you today, I will post tomorrow.

As always, take care of yourselves and don’t forget to click on the little mini cookbook on the side, it has five recipes and the grocery list that goes with them.  Oh, and don’t forget to sign up under Contact Me, to be sure you don’t miss a post.

Bye until tomorrow.

 

About Barojenty

I am a 58-year-old Wife and Mother to two adult children that I am extremely proud of. They turned out to be wonderful human beings and lucky me, they still live at home. I am a Badass cook, a Mum to a two-year-old Dachshund named Willie and I have a chronic illness. I love taking care of my home and family and even though I need help from hubby now and then I try not to let my illness keep me from doing anything I want.

Leave a Reply

