WALKING WITH WILLIE

WALKING WITH WILLIE 2

Hi Everyone,

I know that you know my little Dachshund Willie, he has his own page of pictures at the top of my blog.  He is, without doubt, the friendliest little guy I have ever known, he loves adults, kids, and other dogs.  He envies the crows, and birds in general, does not love cats, and I’m not sure about squirrels yet, he tries to chase them so I am guessing that he probably doesn’t much like them either.

Willie is the reason I get out of the house, since my doctor’s would prefer that I do not drive any more (I lose the sight in my left eye without warning, and my legs stop working also without warning, and both my doctors and I would prefer if I was not responsible for hurting someone), and since a dog needs to get out several times a day, it encourages me to get out of the house.

 

ADVENTURES TO BE HAD

 

Willie has an endearing (being sarcastic here) way of toppling me onto my rear end as often as possible, usually in front of a row of cars waiting for the light to change.  The reason; he has spotted someone with a dog two blocks away and is so eager to get to them that he takes off at high-speed, usually catching me in the middle of a step (I may or may not have mentioned this before, but I walk with a cane because my balance is way off,) which means that I am usually going down and rather than fall flat on my face I try to twist and wind up on my backside.

I am sure I present a completely laughable sight as I twist and turn trying to land on my butt.  I cannot say it for sure, but I am almost positive that I have made someone’s day on the way to work much better due to their laughter or big smile.  I have never seen the laughter, because I’m sure they cut if off when I look over, but the big smiles are pretty hard to hide.

You wouldn’t think that a small dog like a Dachshund would have the strength to pull me over, but I assure you it happens on a regular basis.

The adventures that Willie has taken me along on are really too numerous to count, but suffice it to say that, he has wrapped me around trees, people, other dogs, and fences.   His curiosity is unbounded, he needs to know about everything, every sound, every flicker of light, or every rustle of the bushes has to be investigated.  He lives by what his nose picks up.

To be honest, I don’t mind his curiosity, I get to see things that I probably would have missed if I was just walking by myself, but as he has to stop at every bush, blade of grass, and tree, I notice things that would not usually catch my eye.

One of our neighbours, has a Dandelion growing beside his carport, we all thought it was some kind of plant because the darn thing stands 5 ft tall, but because Willie has to check everything out, we discovered that it was a Dandelion and have decided to leave it to see how big it can grow.  Check out this link to My Photography page to see this monster  My Photography

 

THE SIGHTS AND SMELLS

 

The things I like are the smells and the sights that you see all around our neighbourhood.  We have a very diverse ethnic community, we have the East Indian culture, the Chinese culture, we have a Greek restaurant across the street one way, an Italian restaurant the other way, McDonald’s is a couple of blocks over and KFC is about three blocks away.  Not to mention, the Ukranians that live just outside our complex and the (I’m not sure what the people of Dhubai are called) but they are a couple of doors down from us and the smells of the cooking are incredible and they taste even better, they are friends, so we occasionally get to taste her food.

I must admit though, that on the days where all the smells seem to mingle together, it can be a little overwhelming, and if the wind is from the wrong direction we also get the smells of the manure the farmers have used to fertilize their fields.  Wow, can you say pungent!

The thing is though, the sights are almost better than the smells, there are gentlemen in turbans, and women in saris, the Chinese ladies with their umbrellas even in the sunshine and a medley of other colours and items that are strange to our culture, but are beautiful and exotic.

I love that our community is full of people from many countries, many cultures, and many races.  The walks with Willie allow me to see what a wonderful place that we live in.

 

PLANTS AND TREES

 

The other thing I really like about taking a walk with Willie is the plants and trees that I get to see.  Where I live in British Columbia, Canada everything is very green, but it is the different shades of green that are so wonderful, from the dark green of the evergreens to the lighter foliage of the deciduous trees, sometimes it’s the lighter green of the ferns against the backdrop of the darker leaves of the Periwinkles.  So many shades that it is impossible sometimes to even count them all.

FERNS & IVY

I love taking pictures with my phone, so I have pictures of trees, and bushes, and flowers, and of course, Willie.  I sometimes wonder how we got through each day without a mobile phone, it is so handy to have the perfect picture-taking device right in your hand all the time, well, not all the time, I am not as bad as the younger generation, that can’t seem to put them down at all.  I know that my two adult children carry theirs with them at all times and that they even wind up falling asleep with the phone in the bed with them.

If you look at the menu up top, you will see a page called My Photography, and most of the things that I take pictures of wind up on there, however,  I was out walking with Willie this morning and I got some wonderful shots of him, and some plants and bushes.  It may sound boring, but wait until you see the colours, it really is so amazing what Mother Nature brings out for us to see.

 

 

As well as those above, I got this, they are all over growing in the grass of our whole complex, all of them individually, not in groups or anything like that.  They have just pushed their way through the grass and look small and beautiful, I would never have noticed them if I wasn’t walking with Willie.

VIOLA IN THE GRASS

Isn’t it lovely.  They are everywhere this year.  The funny thing is they are growing where there has only ever been grass, no Violas were ever planted where they are.  It’s very strange, but I love to see them.

Walking with Willie is always an adventure and a sheer pleasure, I smile at and get smiles in return from everyone that he must stop and say “Hi” to, and if we should be out walking and don’t see anyone else, then he whines the whole way home.  He is a total joy to be around and I and the people who live in my complex find him a happy and friendly little soul, with the possible exception of my neighbour next door, who thinks he barks too much.  What can I say, he’s a Dachshund, and they do that.

Take care everyone and I will talk to you on Thursday.

WALKING WITH WILLIE

 

About Barojenty

I am a 58-year-old Wife and Mother to two adult children that I am extremely proud of. They turned out to be wonderful human beings and lucky me, they still live at home. I am a Badass cook, a Mum to a two-year-old Dachshund named Willie and I have a chronic illness. I love taking care of my home and family and even though I need help from hubby now and then I try not to let my illness keep me from doing anything I want.

Leave a Reply

