Oregon – Amazing

Hi Everyone,

I hope you are all ok with me going to a once a week post rather than twice a week.  I have just started a new blog on Aug. 1, its called Upandover50.com and I will be posting once a week on that one, so I thought rather than short change anyone because I didn’t have enough time to write a proper blog post, that I would post only once a week to both.

OREGON

This is one of the most beautiful places, we stayed in a place called the Surftides Resort in Lincoln City, Oregon, the rooms were nothing spectacular but they each have a fireplace and they all face the beach.  You go down some stairs and you are right on the beach, and it is one of those perfect fine sand beaches that are so hard to find.

Surftides Hotel 2

 

 

That’s the hotel right behind Hawkeye & Willie.  The beach was amazing, I am a Scorpio and that’s a water sign so I was right in my element.  It was a little hard walking with a cane because it kept wanting to sink into the sand, but I haven’t done that much walking in years.

The views along this particular stretch of beach are unbelievable, if you have not been to the Oregon coast, you have to go.  I would have been quite happy to just plant my butt on the sand and just sit there looking at the water all day.

 

The first one was taken during the day and the second one was taken just at sunset, the clouds had moved in and the waves were crashing on the beach so the mist made the picture look fuzzy.

We took a drive down to Newport and there was some spectacular scenery along the way, little bays that you can’t reach because the rocks are a sheer drop, some wide open expanses that just take your breath away.

Another day we took a drive and stopped at Depoe Bay, just south of Lincoln City.  They have a sea wall on one side and a row of little shops on the other side.  I, of course, wanted to go on to the little shops, but just as we got there a grey whale or maybe more than one, decided to surface right at the edge of the rock wall.

Grey Whale

 

Sorry about the photo, but I just wasn’t fast enough to catch him, Willie just stood there barking at him.  It had all the people around us laughing because obviously, he thought he was so tough.

We were there for four wonderful days (we haven’t been away in over 3 years by ourselves), and we will definitely be going back.  Again I urge you to put it on your bucket list, but, if you are planning on staying at the Surftides hotel, I wouldn’t suggest you bring your dog, because although they were exemplary when it came to service, they have a strict rule that you cannot leave your dog unattended at any time.  So, no going out for dinner, or checking out the museums, glass factories, pottery sheds.  That was the hardest part of the trip, we couldn’t go anywhere without Willie.

Sunset on the Oregon Coast

Oh, and the sunsets, WOW.

 

Ok, now for the recipes, no one had contacted me so I’m guessing that if I give you a link to a Google Doc you would be ok.  So here it is:

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1nu4UFgtSlYWlP3XejK1UaPcN7vWQvNOHYhjJwi6w7K8/

About Barojenty

I am a 58-year-old Wife and Mother to two adult children that I am extremely proud of. They turned out to be wonderful human beings and lucky me, they still live at home. I am a Badass cook, a Mum to a two-year-old Dachshund named Willie and I have a chronic illness. I love taking care of my home and family and even though I need help from hubby now and then I try not to let my illness keep me from doing anything I want.

Leave a Reply

