58 and a Hopeful Heart in Vegas.

Happy Sunday Everyone,

Las-Vegas-Sign

I am so excited, Hubby and I are flying off to Vegas on Wednesday to get warm and have some fun, and hopefully a little luck.

It’s a Birthday Trip for Me and a Radiation is Over trip for him.  My birthday is tomorrow and he concluded his radiation treatments at the end of September.  Oh, do we need this!

The kids are of course staying home, Mr T just started a new job and Miss Muffet wouldn’t have been able to get the time off even if we had invited her.  They are staying home and looking after my wee boy, Willie.

It has been a lovely weekend around here, kind of chilly both days, but at least not the torrential downpours of Friday when we got hit with the remnants of a typhoon from the Pacific.

Willie and I took a walk yesterday and the fall colours just made my day, not to mention the cool crisp air and the blue skies.

 

 

58 and a Hopeful Heart in Vegas
A Colourful pathway after the wind and rain of the night before.

 

Look at all the colours on this pathway, how could you not smile when you see them.  Just around the corner from there was a beautiful tree, I couldn’t pass up the chance to take a picture of it against the background of the blue sky.

 

58 and a Hopeful Heart in Vegas
Fall colour against a beautiful blue sky

I love the fall, I can’t help smiling when I see all the colours of the leaves changing, not to mention feeling that Little Nip that sometimes turns into a Big Chill.

I look forward to decorating every year for the fall, and I do it a little bit different every year.  My mantle this year has white pumpkins on it, against the exciting Fall colours of a garland.

58 and a Hopeful Heart in Vegas
My Fall Mantle

Then over in the corner is a big vase of Fall coloured flowers, also at the front door when you come in there is a big vase of Fall foliage.  On the front porch, I have two bird houses done up in fall colours with flowers and such around them, and a Scarecrow that keeps the front stairs under his watchful eye.

 

 

 

There are so many things I see on our walks that are just beautiful, but when I take pictures of them, you just don’t quite get the same impact as seeing them in place.  For instance:

58 and a Hopeful Heart in Vegas
Hidden Life

I know you can’t see it, but there is a little mouse sitting where the red circle is, just praying that Willie doesn’t notice him.  He came out of a wee hole in the tree.  I couldn’t reduce the picture anymore, it began to just blur out, this was as good as I could get.

Regardless of the mouse, the colours here too are just wonderful, all the orange underneath the new growth on this Fir tree, with the sun highlighting the growth of the past summer.

I love where we live, we get very little to no snow, the summers are mild for any other place although we still think it’s hot when it hits 35′ C.  The one thing we do have is rain, in the Spring not so bad, but at this time of year, the rain and the wind can do so much damage.  One day last week we were without power for 4 hours, I know, I know, that doesn’t seem much to most of you, but that is quite a long time for the Lower Mainland of British Columbia.

We are so lucky to miss out on the storms the North East gets in the Winter, and we also miss out on Tornados and Hurricanes the rest of the year.  We are so fortunate here, the things that people around the world have to put up with in weather and political upheaval, I’m not sure how any of us here would deal with them.

 

We hear about the horrors around the world and pat ourselves on the back for living here, completely forgetting that we just had the hand of fate in our corner the day our forebears decided to come here rather than somewhere else.

Canada is a terrific place to be from, we have (in my opinion) unrivalled scenery, food that is easily produced, and a population that has lived in peace always, here at home.  We forget to thank God or Allah or whatever Deity you pray to that they led us to this place, a lot of the time we are completely unaware of the fact that we take for granted what a lot of the world would be unbelievably grateful for.

In a way, we all take for granted what we have always known, so have-nots take for granted that they will have not, the persecuted take for granted that it is just the way things are in their world.

In 90 percent of the world, flying off on a holiday is something they could never even imagine, let alone afford.

Woah, this post has taken an odd turn, it started out so positive and upbeat, but has now turned to something I did not expect.  I think it would be better if I turned it around again,  but there is one thing, for all of you wherever you are in the world, who live in fear most days, I send out a prayer to My God, Your God, Whatever Deity might be listening, please keep them safe and smile down upon them.

Ok, back to the brighter stuff, Vegas in three days, it will be nice to get somewhere warm and just sit by the pool, relax and enjoy.  We will eat ourselves silly, oh no, here comes another 10 lbs (DON’T CARE), drink the good stuff, and gamble just a little (yeah right.)  We have no plans, we will just make it up as we go.

For now, I will leave you with this:  You got to know when to hold em, know when to fold em.

There will be no blog post in the following week, it will be November before I talk to you again, so for all you Ghoulies and Ghosties out there, not to mention the Witches and Black Cats, have a wonderful week, have a wonderful Halloween, and may your candy bowl be empty at the end of the night so that you don’t get fat eating what’s left.

Bye for now.

 

 

About Barojenty

I am a 58-year-old Wife and Mother to two adult children that I am extremely proud of. They turned out to be wonderful human beings and lucky me, they still live at home. I am a Badass cook, a Mum to a two-year-old Dachshund named Willie and I have a chronic illness. I love taking care of my home and family and even though I need help from hubby now and then I try not to let my illness keep me from doing anything I want.

Leave a Reply

